Hi, my name is Amanda Rickett and I am the Assistant Director of Admission at The Clarkson School.  The Clarkson School is an early college entrance program at Clarkson University, located in Potsdam, NY.  I will explain in more detail specifics about The Clarkson School shortly, first; allow me to share a little about myself.

I began my position at The Clarkson School one year ago in November.  However, this position is not my first experience with Clarkson.  I am a 09’ Clarkson University alumna, a decision I will never regret.  I would have to say my favorite part of my job is to inform students on opportunities available at The Clarkson School, so they too have the knowledge to make an educational decision they will never regret.

My decision to start this blog stemmed from a desire to inform more students.  The topic however has become somewhat of an internal debate.  Do I speak about my experience at Clarkson University? Do I speak about how an early college entrance program is not as daunting as it seems? How about some words of advice on the admissions process? And I couldn’t leave out all the fun things happening at The Clarkson School.  My decision….I choose them all!

Choosing a college or university can be scary; choosing to attend a year early can be even more confusing.  So, I would like to keep you up to date on the happenings of The Clarkson School, giving you information to decide if we are the right early college program for you, how to go about applying, and provide you with tidbits of advice along the way.

With that being said, I leave you as promised with an explanation of The Clarkson School below.  Check back for information regarding locations the Director of Admission and myself will be visiting, and upcoming events and deadlines.  In the meantime visit us at www.clarkson.edu/tcs!

The Clarkson School in a nutshell:

The Clarkson School, an early college entrance program at Clarkson University, allows high school seniors the opportunity to attend college a year early.  Since 1978, The Clarkson School has given academically accelerated students the opportunity to:

  • Begin college early, taking a full course load alongside other Clarkson undergraduates.
  • Be part of a smaller more supportive residence environment
  • Take part in specialized programs that bridge the transition between high school and college.
  • Participate in Clarkson clubs, join a Division III sports team, and earn up to 32 college credits.
  • Automatically continue at Clarkson University as a sophomore, or move on to other top colleges and universities, taking the college credits earned here for evaluation.
